Gail Douglas Award

Winners of the Gail Douglas award

The Activist Lab is proud to present the Gail Douglas Award, given annually to one of our valued public health practice partners. Established in 2006, this award honors a practitioner who exhibits ongoing dedication to the BU SPH community through establishing meaningful practicum projects, collaborating with SPH faculty on practice-based research, or acting as an exceptional leader in public health service.

Past recipients of the Gail Douglas Award:

  • 2006: Gail Douglas, Associate Dean, Boston University School of Public Health
  • 2007: Letitia “Tish” Davis, Founder and Director of the Massachusetts Department of Public Health Occupational Surveillance Program
  • 2008: Robert Restuccia, Executive Director of Community Catalyst
  • 2009: Sarah Johnson, Management Sciences for Health
  • 2010: Sophie Godley, Deputy Director of the AIDS Action Committee
  • 2011: Alfred DeMaria, Massachusetts State Epidemiologist
  • 2012: Winnie Suen, Geriatrician and palliative care physician at Boston Medical Center
  • 2013: Nicole Daley, Director, Start Strong Initiative, Division of Violence Prevention, Boston Public Health Commission
  • 2014-15: Staff of Bureau of Infectious Disease, Massachusetts Department of Public Health
  • 2016: Rachel Goodman and John Kane, Boston Housing Authority